Bangkok bitches!

I’m in Bangkok. It’s hot and smelly and busy and absolutely wonderful! I’m staying around the infamous Khao San Road, which is usually the first stop for all dirty travellers wanting to get drunk on cheap beer and Red Bull buckets in the middle of the day, and usually done without the help of their T-shirts. But this time round the booming music and overflowing pavement bars, the reeling tourists, the noodle stalls, the shops selling brightly coloured hippy garb, the tuk tuk drivers…they all remind me of the good times I had here.

I was in Bangkok two years ago as part of a trip through Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam. I spent nine months eating noodles and squeezing myself into teeny people busses and sweating out every last drop of water in my body. Of course I loved it. And now, to be in this energised city again, to breathe in the smells of fish sauce and fried food I remember so well, to walk down familiar streets and enjoy the convenience of the many 7Eleven stores, wow, it is a really special feeling. Here’s to every place revisited, and to every place yet to be loved. And to every Pad Thai I will eat of course!

20121213-015933.jpg

20121213-015941.jpg
Loving the noodles in Bangkok!

One response to “Bangkok bitches!

Leave a Reply

