Burn baby! Burn!

The real reason I came home right in time for winter is just around the corner. On Wednesday I will travel to Tankwa Town for five days of madness and beauty in the desert. Afrika Burn is the spectacular result of the creative expression of participants who gather once a year in the Tankwa Karoo to create a temporary city of art, theme camps, costume, music and performance! It is, essentially, an art festival, but it is like nothing else out there (except its parent festival, Burning Man in the USA). I’m far too excited to write about the founding principles – radical self-reliance; radical self-expression; leave no trace; gifting, to name a few – but trust me when I say it is a mind-blowingly, fantastilicious, open-hearted, huggable experience. The best part? We get to dress up!

I can’t show you my costumes before they’ve been unveiled on the playa, but here’s a little taste of the fun to come. Can you guess what they are?

20130428-202854.jpg

20130428-202909.jpg

20130428-202919.jpg

20130428-202930.jpg

Since the burn far, far away from real life, and I’ll be dedicated to playing desert impie, I won’t be online for the next week or two. Brace yourselves for the stories of plain-sighted beauty and gaping impossibilities to come. Off to the desert I go!

2 responses to “Burn baby! Burn!

Leave a Reply

